Marshmallow Christmas

Christmas is a time of strange foods: head-cheese, for example. Head-cheese was a staple on the festive table as I was growing up, but my GramZ turned my stomach away from this “delight” by describing in great detail exactly how to make head-cheese. I still want to be her when I grow up, but I cannot see myself ever making or eating head-cheese.

Other Christmas surprises through the years tend to come from my in-laws. I could blame the interesting food on fact that they are not Canadian born and raised, and they bring their traditions from the “old country”. But to be perfectly honest, the “old country” is the good ol’ United States of America. And the unusual food has come in the form of things like canned chicken, or in the case of this year: Gingerbread Marshmallows!

"Gingerbread Marshmallows"

Actually, gingerbread marshmallows are probably a good idea. Unfortunately, Kidlet and I are a bit squeamish about some foods: soda/pop, jello, and (of course) marshmallows. But then the marshmallows did this:

"Can't catch me, I'm the marshmallow man!"

"Can't catch me, I'm the marshmallow man!"

Notice his body language? He’s pointing out an escape route while gesturing for the one in the bowl to help the others and follow him. I don’t doubt that he spotted my knife block. Well, there’s only one thing a wimpy-momma set on self preservation can do: melt him down into something else.

"Take that you creepy Marshmallow Man!"

Fondant! Just take a bag of creepy marshmallows, melt them in the microwave with a couple tablespoons of water (it dilutes their powers of creepiness) and nuke those bad-boys for one minute. Then add massive amounts of icing sugar, and roll out until they’re flat as a pancake (if not, flatter). Drape over a yummy chocolate cake, and suddenly the creepy marshmallow men are no more.

Chocolate cake covered with gingerbread marshmallow fondant

Working with fondant takes a wee bit of practice, but if you’ve recently played with play-dough, it’s not that different. And the results are much more to my liking.

